PiYo Week One

PiYo Week One

I was beyond excited when the BeachBody box showed up on my doorstep and could not wait to start! I ended up waiting until Monday so 1) I could follow the calendar and 2) my rest days could be on Fridays! I love rest day Fridays!!

A BeachBody coach approached me to see if I’d like to join her July challenge group about two weeks ago and, as fate would have it, her timing was perfect. I was looking to change up my routine but hadn’t put my finger on exactly how. Initially I was going to order Insanity and call it a day, the more I looked into PiYo though I knew it would fit our lifestyle better. Not mention I have an amazing new yoga mat I wanted to start using a lot more!!

Sunday we went grocery shopping and food prepped for the week (more on that soon!). Let me say – this made eating throughout the week soo much easier! It was amazing to just go into the kitchen, grab a proportioned baggy and leave. I am forever here to swear by meal prep. Wait, as long as it continues to work!!

Monday was an introduction, I popped in the DVD and got to know the moves. The really nice thing is that as a participant you are encouraged to go back through this introduction as often as you’d like and you don’t even have to bother your instructor. I know I feel a little sheepish when I ask an instructor to repeat a move!

Tuesday and Wednesday were Defining Upper and Lower Body. Since this is a push yourself series and I have never done anything like this I decided to push myself but not to the edge quite yet – that starts this week! It was a great workout and feel so in my element since PiYo uses body weight.

It always seems impossible until it's done

Thursday was the Sweat workout. The Define workouts are twenty minute workouts and I didn’t need water during either so I wasn’t concerned with Sweat either. This workout is forty or forty-five minutes long and I pushed myself, I actually had to pause with ten minutes to go because I needed a drink. Luckily a margarita pitcher of water was in the fridge! This one kicked my butt and left me wobbly.

Friday was a rest day and I just did some light stretching. I am using Friday as a universal rest day so I didn’t have anything planned.

Saturday I decided to get up around 4:30 after a less than restful night sleep and get it in early, we repeated Define Lower Body and I decided to push myself. I was still a little groggy but it felt good to be up and sweaty while everyone was still asleep. I had a little bit of a breakdown over food Saturday. I really wanted to gorge myself on tamales and ice cream but knew 1) that was not an appropriate response and 2) it wouldn’t do me any good in the long run. We do have a tamale and ice cream date on the calendar in 53 days (and counting 😉 )!

Sunday after two hours of technical difficulties my husband was sweet enough to fix the TV so I could get to it. Define Upper Body got my going and by the last set of tricep pushups I was tanked. I could feel more core and arms more engaged.. My upper body is truly my weakest point so I am excited to see the results!

Eating: This past week I tried out a seven meal system. It worked and I felt satiated often but there were still a few times I wanted a piece of fruit or veggies but couldn’t because I would be over my limit for the day. We live and we learn so I’m trying a four meal plan this week – fingers crossed!

Subway PiYo meal hack

Meals on the go: We like to try new restaurants and dive into whatever establishment beacons us. As it turns out that’s easier to do than you’d think Sunday he had a hankering for Subway, after a few googles I found an interactive nutrition label (awesome by the way) and was able to plug, chug, and estimate my way to a Double Chicken Chopped Salad. Each chicken patty weighs 2.5 oz (there was two) and the accumulated veggie content (spinach, cucumber, tomato, and black olives) was about a cup and  a half. Awesome! I have a lot more on the go hacks but I think I’ll do an entire post soon!

Experts say the first week of a diet/lifestyle change is the toughest. If you can get over that you’re on the right track. Do you find this true?

5 thoughts on “PiYo Week One

  1. Love love Piyo! I seem to be saying that everywhere lately 🙂 I’m the opposite of the experts! The first few weeks are totally about motivation and excitement about trying a new product and doing something different to change up your training. That said, I’m sure I ‘ll still love Piyo after the 8 weeks!

  2. Good for you! I used to be a beachbody coach and PIYO is a great program. I find that it’s the third week that’s the hardest for my clients. Week one and two you still have motivation and excitment but afterwards it takes more work to keep it going. Can’t wait to hear how your journey goes!

  3. Pingback: 5 Ways to Make Going Out to Eat with PiYo Easier and More Fulfilling | The Salty Pretzel

Leave a Reply

