5 Ways to Make Going Out to Eat with PiYo Easier and More Fulfilling

WAYS TO MAKE DINING OUT WITH PiYo EASIER AND MORE FULFILLING

Good morning! Happy Friday! I’m wrapping up the end of week two with PiYo and loving it! After my little food freak out last week (tamales and ice cream anyone?) I decided to sit down and figure out how to thrive in the next few weeks. Some places make it easier than others but when it comes right down to it I think these “hacks” can be applied to make everyone’s habits just a tad bit better and who doesn’t like that?

Let’s jump right in:

1.Check online to see if the restaurant has it’s nutrition posted.

My favorite example of this is Subay’s nutrition tracker. You can add or take away your cheese, veggies, sauces, and additions; the only thing you can’t do is toast it! By “calculating yours” you receive custom nutrition information based on your choices You can also print it so you can take with to the store, bless the heart of the guy taking your order from a piece of paper.

Screen Shot 2014-07-24 at 11.14.59 PM

 

2. Don’t be afraid to ask questions.

I know that not everyone feels comfortable doing this but if you’re at all worried about what’s in your food (and even if you’re not) you have the right to know. I have learned a lot by asking; Subway’s chicken patty is 2.5 oz, 54 Street Bar and Grill serves cinnamon butter but you can always have regular, and almost anything can be modified.

3. Call ahead if you’re worried or take time to scan the menu before you’re seated.

If you head to a restaurant and you’re on this meal plan or any other and cannot, for the life of you, find at least their menu online then give them a call and ask if you can get XYZ. What’s your favorite thing that the restaurant is most likely to have? Knowing what you can eat will make the whole experience that much more fulfilling.

4. Just be nice.

This is my hard and fast rule in life and it just so happens to go perfectly while dining out. If you’re nice to others you’re far more likely to get better service. Not every restaurant is going to be as accommodating as you’d like but, in my experience, you will get much more accomplished by being nice and trying to be understanding. The world does not revolve around you (whomp whomp whomp) and some dishes just cannot be modified.

5. Simplify.

I like salads because I can count my food groups with very little aggravation and holding up the other person no longer becomes an issue. Easy peasy!

Subway PiYo meal hack

Do you have any tips for dining out while on a meal plan? Talk to me!